From DDLC Wiki
firstrun is the name of a file present in the
game directory. It contains no information relevant to the game itself (only containing the character "1") but the game uses it as a way to give a player the option to restart the game from the beginning of Act 1. When deleted, the player is given the option to restart the game from the very beginning.